Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites

  collectSPACE: Messages
  Soviet - Russian Space
  Progress MS-07 (ISS 68P) cargo spacecraft

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   Progress MS-07 (ISS 68P) cargo spacecraft
Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 38142
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 10-11-2017 06:26 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Progress MS-07 poised for launch

Roscosmos 68th cargo spacecraft bound for the International Space Station is poised to launch Thursday (Oct. 12) from Russia's Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

Lift off is scheduled for 4:32 a.m. CDT (0932 GMT; or 3:32 p.m. local Kazakh time).

The spacecraft is slated to autonomously dock to the Pirs docking compartment on the Russian segment of the station at 7:56 a.m. CDT (1256 GMT), just three and a half hours, or two orbits of Earth, after launch to demonstrate an expedited capability for potential use on future Russian cargo and crew launches.

The spacecraft will deliver about 5,400 pounds (2,450 kilograms) of cargo and supplies to the space station for the Expedition 53 and 54 crews. The vehicle is loaded with food, fuel and supplies, including 1,550 pounds (705 kg) of propellant, 110 pounds (50 kg) of oxygen and air, 925 pounds (420 kg) of water.

The Progress will remain docked at the space station for more than five months before leaving in March for deorbit into the atmosphere.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 38142
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 10-12-2017 05:37 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Launch abort of Progress scrubs 2-orbit rendezvous

The planned launch of Russia's Progress MS-07 cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station was scrubbed Thursday (Oct. 12) in the last seconds leading up to the expected lift off.

"The first of the two tower umbilicals retracted about 35 seconds or so before launch as planned," said Rob Navias, launch commentator, on NASA TV. "The second of the two umbilicals usually retracts at about the 12 second mark to initiate the launch sequence. We did not see any engine start initiated, however."

The next launch attempt will be no earlier than Saturday (Oct. 14) at 3:46 am CDT (0846 GMT; 2:46 p.m. local Kazakh time). Roscosmos technicians are analyzing the cause of the scrubbed launch.

Due to orbital mechanics, a launch on Saturday would result in the cancellation of the planned demonstration of an expedited two-orbit, three and a half hour rendezvous and docking. A launch on Saturday will result in a two-day, 34-orbit trip to the space station.

This is the first launch abort of a space station-bound Progress in 68 flights.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 38142
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 10-14-2017 04:10 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Progress MS-07 launches to space station

Russia's Progress MS-07 cargo spacecraft is now on a two-day trip to the International Space Station, having launched Saturday (Oct. 14) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

Liftoff of the Soyuz rocket lofting the Progress came at 3:46:53 a.m. CDT (0846 GMT; 2:46 p.m. local time).

Following a 34-orbit, two-day rendezvous, the Progress will arrive at the Pirs compartment of the International Space Station for docking on Monday (Oct. 16) at 6:09 a.m CDT (1109 GMT).

The successful launch occurred two days later than originally planned due a last minute scrub on Thursday (Oct. 12).

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 38142
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 10-16-2017 11:21 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Progress MS-07 docks at space station

Russia's Progress MS-07 cargo spacecraft docked at 6:04 a.m. CDT (1104 GMT) on Monday (Oct. 16) to the Pirs docking compartment at the International Space Station.

All times are CT (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | The Source for Space History & Artifacts

Copyright 2017 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.


Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.47a





advertisement