Space News space history and artifacts articles Messages space history discussion forums Sightings worldwide astronaut appearances Resources selected space history documents Websites related space history websites

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013
2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007
2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002



Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun
Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec


April 1, 2018

/ 8:45 p.m. CT (0145 GMT Apr 2)


Tiangong-1 re-entry

: China's first prototype space station is no more. After six and a half years in orbit, including 24 days crewed by 6 taikonauts, the Tiangong-1 (Celestial Palace) space lab made an uncontrolled re-entry into Earth's atmosphere, breaking apart during its fiery fall. Any debris from Tiangong-1 fell into the south Pacific Ocean.


April 2, 2018

/ 8:00 a.m. CT (1300 GMT)




Mission Ctrl-P

: For the first time in its nearly 20-year-long history, the International Space Station is upgrading its printer. Working with NASA, HP has developed the new Envy ISS, a modified OfficeJet inkjet printer capable of working in zero-g, meeting NASA's unique requirements for the orbiting lab and filling the needs of its astronaut crew.


April 4, 2018

/ 8:35 a.m. CT (1335 GMT)


Starliner MO OFT patch

: Boeing's CST-100 Starliner is the centerpiece of its first mission patch, as debuted by the Boeing mission ops (MO) team on Tuesday (April 3). The Orbital Flight Test (OFT) emblem, which also shows locations on Earth key to the mission, represents the NASA contracted team that will command the flight from Starliner mission control at Johnson Space Center in Houston.


April 5, 2018

/ 11:00 p.m. CT (0400 GMT Apr 6)


'Rocket Men'

: Robert Kurson was five years old when Apollo 8 launched the first humans to the moon, but it was not until four decades later that he found it was "the greatest space story ever told." A chance encounter with the mission's spacecraft ultimately led to Kurson talking with its crew and then writing "Rocket Men" about their journey.


April 7, 2018

/ 12:05 a.m. CT (0505 GMT)


'E' is for Apollo

: The U.S. Postal Service on Friday (April 6) released a new set of stamps highlighting science, technology, engineering and math, or STEM, education. A diagram of NASA's Apollo spacecraft is featured on the engineering stamp as a "positive" example of the discipline.


April 9, 2018

/ 7:05 p.m. CT (0005 GMT Apr 10)


Air and Space director

: The Smithsonian's National Air and Space Museum has named its next director. Ellen Stofan, NASA's former chief scientist, succeeds Jack Dailey after 19 years. A planetary geologist who has studied Venus, Mars, Saturn's moon Titan and Earth, Stofan began her professional career as a college intern at the museum.


April 11, 2018

/ 8:00 p.m. CT (0100 GMT Apr 12)


Moonwalker vs. moon watchmaker

: Apollo 15 commander David Scott has a judge's go to proceed with a lawsuit over the marketing of a replica moon watch. Bulova and Sterling (Kay) Jewelers referred to Scott's connection to the chronograph in their promotional material without the astronaut's consent, allegedly violating his right to publicity and control over his persona. On April 4, a judge rejected a summary judgement, finding Scott's claims had standing.


April 13, 2018

/ 6:05 p.m. CT (2305 GMT)




Gateway to the... moon

: "Destination Moon: The Apollo 11 Mission" opens to the public at the Saint Louis Science Center on Saturday (April 14). The Smithsonian traveling exhibit, which is on the second stop of a three-year, four-city tour, features the Apollo 11 command module. The Saint Louis Science Center has added more than 100 of its own related artifacts to the display, as well as a replica '60s living room, a launch pad gantry and full-size, climb-aboard mockups of the Apollo command and lunar modules.



back to collectSPACE
© 2018 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.