Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites

  collectSPACE: Messages
  Space Shuttles - Space Station
  ISS Expedition 42: US (31) spacewalk (3/01/15)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   ISS Expedition 42: US (31) spacewalk (3/01/15)
Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 31702
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 03-01-2015 05:16 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Spacewalkers to install new docking antennas

Expedition 42 commander Butch Wilmore and flight engineer Terry Virts on Sunday (March 1) will embark on a spacewalk to continue the work they began on Saturday and continued on Wednesday to prepare the International Space Station for a pair of new international docking adapters (IDAs).

On this, the third of their three planned spacewalks together, the duo will will deploy 400 feet of cable along the space station's truss and install antennas as part of the new Common Communications for Visiting Vehicles (C2V2) system that will provide rendezvous and navigational data to vehicles approaching the station, including the new U.S. commercial crew vehicles.

Wednesday's spacewalk is scheduled begin at 6:10 a.m. CST (1210 GMT) and run about 6 hours and 45 minutes.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 31702
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 03-01-2015 05:54 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Wilmore, Virts begin their third spacewalk

Barry "Butch" Wilmore and Terry Virts switched their extravehicular mobility unit (EMU) spacesuits from external power to battery at 5:52 a.m. CST (1152 GMT) on Sunday (March 1), marking the start of their planned six-hour, 45-minute spacewalk.

Wilmore and Virts will run cable along the truss of the space station and install antennas as part of the new Common Communications for Visiting Vehicles (C2V2) system.

Swapping designations for this, the final scheduled Expedition 42 spacewalk, Virts is EV1 (extravehicular crew member 1) wearing the spacesuit with the red stripes. Wilmore is EV2 with no stripes on his suit.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 31702
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 03-01-2015 11:41 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
collectSPACE
Astronauts add antennas, route cables on third of three station spacewalks

The International Space Station is now three steps – or rather spacewalks – closer to being ready for the arrival of new U.S. commercial crewed spacecraft with the successful completion of a two-astronaut outing on Sunday morning (March 1).

NASA astronauts Terry Virts and Barry "Butch" Wilmore ventured outside the orbiting outpost for the third time in eight days to prepare the station for new docking ports to be added later this year. On Sunday, Virts and Wilmore routed some 400 feet (122 meters) of cables and installed two antenna booms that will provide navigational data to spacecraft approaching the complex.

Virts and Wilmore completed the five-hour and 38 minute spacewalk at 12:30 p.m. EST (1730 GMT), having started the excursion at 6:52 a.m. EST (1152 GMT).

All times are CT (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | The Source for Space History & Artifacts

Copyright 1999-2015 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.


Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.47a





advertisement