Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites

2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008
2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun
Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec

November 1, 2013 / 7:30 a.m. CT (1230 GMT)
Quilt upon a star: Astronaut Karen Nyberg, a lifelong lover of sewing currently in the last weeks of her five month mission aboard the International Space Station, is inviting fellow crafters to join her stitching together a global community quilt. Nyberg recently revealed the star-themed quilt block she made while on orbit. She is now challenging quilters to create their own star-themed quilt squares to be stitched together and attached to her own for display at the 2014 International Quilt Festival to be held in Houston.

November 2, 2013 / 6:30 p.m. CT (2330 GMT)
Scott Carpenter remembered: The second American astronaut to orbit the Earth, Scott Carpenter was remembered during a funeral service held at his boyhood church Saturday (Nov. 2) in Boulder, Colorado. Carpenter, 88, died Oct. 10, after suffering a stroke. Hundreds turned out to pay their respects, including Carpenter's fellow Mercury astronaut John Glenn and NASA chief Charles Bolden. A naval aviator, Carpenter received military honors, including a missing man formation flyover by four F-18 fighter jets.

November 5, 2013 / 3:45 a.m. CT (0945 GMT)
India launches 'Mangalyaan' to Mars: The Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) launched the Mars Orbiter Mission on India's first-ever attempt to explore the Red Planet. Lifting off Tuesday (Nov. 5) on top of a Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle, the 'Mangalyaan' (Hindi for "Mars Craft") spacecraft will study Mars' atmosphere and surface with five science instruments, but is primarily a technology demonstrator for India's future interplanetary missions.

November 6, 2013 / 7:00 a.m. CT (1300 GMT)
Tag, ISS is it: It looks like a dog tag and is marked with the image of an insect, but the geocaching travel bug that Rick Mastracchio is flying to the International Space Station is a powerful tool capable of engaging millions in his six-month mission. Students in Connecticut will join geocachers around the globe watching the travel bug's trek to orbit Wednesday night (Nov. 6) onboard Russia's Soyuz TMA-11M spacecraft. Flying with Mastracchio and the bug are cosmonaut Mikhail Tyurin, astronaut Koichi Wakata of JAXA and an unlit torch for the 2014 Sochi Olympics.

November 6, 2013 / 10:25 p.m. CT (0425 GMT Nov 7)
Olympic torch's rocket-assisted relay: An unlit torch for the 2014 Sochi Olympics lifted off on board the Soyuz TMA-11M spacecraft Wednesday night (Nov. 6), accompanied by the International Space Station's (ISS) next three crew members. Cosmonaut Mikhail Tyurin, astronaut Rick Mastracchio and JAXA's Koichi Wakata will briefly be part of a nine-member Expedition 37 crew as the Olympic torch is taken on a spacewalk, before beginning Expedition 38 and then leading Expedition 39 (Wakata will be the first Japanese astronaut to command the space station).

November 7, 2013 / 12:15 p.m. CT (1815 GMT)
Canada's new space-robot fiver: Canada's robotic contributions to the space station are celebrated on the nation's new $5 bank note launched into circulation Thursday (Nov. 7). Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, who last April was onboard the International Space Station when he helped debut the blue-colored bank note's Canadarm2 and Dextre design, returned to the Canadian Space Agency on Thursday to celebrate the currency's release. The polymer bill also features an image of a spacewalking astronaut.

November 9, 2013 / 9:05 a.m. CT (1505 GMT)


Olympic torch taken on a spacewalk: Two Russian cosmonauts carried the Sochi 2014 Olympic torch during a spacewalk outside of the International Space Station on Saturday (Nov. 9). A high-flying extension of the relay that began in Greece in October, the space-flown torch will be returned to Earth to light the Olympic flame at the Feb. 7 opening ceremonies of the 22nd Winter Games in Sochi, Russia. Spacewalkers Oleg Kotov and Sergey Ryazanskiy each took turns holding the torch as they posed for photos and were filmed set against the Earth and space station.

November 10, 2013 / 9:15 a.m. CT (1515 GMT)
Olympic torch gets surprise space patch: When spacewalkers Oleg Kotov and Sergey Ryazanskiy emerged from the space station Saturday (Nov. 9) carrying an Olympic torch for the Winter Games, they did so in proper space style. Attached to the shoulder of both cosmonauts' spacesuits was an Olympic torch space mission patch, as designed by artist Luc van den Abeelen and approved by the Organizing Committee for the Sochi 2014 Olympics.

November 10, 2013 / 9:35 p.m. CT (0335 GMT Nov 11)
Soyuz TMA-09M lands: Fyodor Yurchihkin, Karen Nyberg and Luca Parimitano returned to Earth Sunday night (Nov. 10), bringing an end to their 166 days serving as Expedition 37 crewmembers on the International Space Station. Landing with the trio aboard Soyuz TMA-09M was the torch that will be used to light the Olympic flame at the opening ceremonies of the Sochi 2014 Winter Games.

November 14, 2013 / 9:55 p.m. CT (0355 GMT Nov 15)
Alexander Serebrov, 1944-2013: Soviet-era cosmonaut Alexander Serebrov, who flew to space four times and performed what was at one time a world record 10 spacewalks, died on Tuesday (Nov. 12) at age 69 in Moscow. Serebrov launched twice to the Salyut 7 space station and twice to Mir, survived a collision with the latter, and tested Russia's SPK jetpack, dubbed the "space motorcycle."

November 18, 2013 / 12:55 p.m. CT (1855 GMT)


MAVEN to Mars: NASA's tenth Mars-bound orbiter, MAVEN (short for Mars Atmosphere and Volatile EvolutioN), lifted off for the Red Planet on Monday (Nov. 18) atop an Atlas V rocket from Launch Complex 41 at the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida. Set to arrive in orbit around Mars in September 2014, MAVEN is the first probe dedicated to studying Mars' thinning upper atmosphere.

November 20, 2013 / 5:35 p.m. CT (2335 GMT)


ISS at 15: Nov. 20, 1998 was a day to mark in history. Russia launched a Proton rocket carrying a pressurized module called Zarya, or "sunrise," into orbit. This launch would be the dawn of the largest international effort in space to ever come to light. Zarya became the first piece of the International Space Station. collectSPACE presents a countdown of 15 facts for 15 years of the ISS in orbit.

November 21, 2013 / 10:40 a.m. CT (1640 GMT)
Sally Ride bestowed highest honor: Sally Ride, America's first woman in space and an advocate for STEM education, especially for young girls, was posthumously awarded the United States' highest honor on Wednesday (Nov. 20), the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Only the 9th NASA astronaut to be awarded the medal, Ride was hailed by President Obama for "blasting through the stratospheric glass ceiling" and for championing scientific literacy.

November 25, 2013 / 9:00 p.m. CT (0300 GMT Nov 26)
Astronaut's guide to "Astronaut's Guide": Although it hit bookshops' shelves less than six months after Chris Hadfield landed from the space station, "An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth" was not written in orbit. Now a bestselling author, Hadfield recounted the story behind his first book in a recent interview with collectSPACE.com.

November 27, 2013 / 4:15 p.m. CT (2215 GMT)
Space shuttle replica vandalized: A space shuttle mockup was defaced on Wednesday (Nov. 27) at Space Center Houston. Vandals spray painted the replica orbiter with political and racial graffiti. The center, which serves as the visitor attraction for NASA's Johnson Space Center, quickly covered up the offending markings. Christened the "Independence," the shuttle mockup is to become part of a new $12 million, six-story educational attraction in 2015.

November 29, 2013 / 12:05 a.m. CT (0605 GMT)
Spacelab at 30 Before Columbus, Harmony and Tranquility, before Spacehab, there was Spacelab, the $1 billion science module built by Europe and flown by NASA on the space shuttle. The first Spacelab mission launched 30 years ago Thursday (Nov. 28) on a ten-day flight that at the time signaled "the culmination of history's largest and most comprehensive multinational space project" between NASA and the European Space Agency (ESA). Spacelab's legacy can be seen today in the design of a number of the modules comprising the International Space Station.


back to collectSPACE

© 1999-2014 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.