Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

  collectSPACE: Messages
  Soviet - Russian Space
  Soyuz MS-20 mission to the space station

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   Soyuz MS-20 mission to the space station
Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 47578
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 12-05-2021 10:37 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Soyuz MS-20, space tourists poised for launch

Soyuz MS-20 commander Alexander Misurkin of Roscosmos together with Japanese space flight participants Yusaku Maezawa and Yozo Hirano are set to launch to the International Space Station on Wednesday (Dec. 8) at 2:38 a.m. EST (0738 GMT or 12:38 p.m. local time) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

The Soyuz is scheduled to dock to the station's Poisk mini-research module at about 8:41 a.m. EDT (1341 GMT) the same day, after a four-orbit rendezvous.

About two hours after docking, the hatches between the Soyuz and the space station will open and Misurkin, Maezawa and Hirano will be greeted by Expedition 66 commander Anton Shkaplerov and cosmonaut Pyotr Dubrov of Roscosmos; NASA astronauts Mark Vande Hei, Raja Chari, Tom Marshburn, and Kayla Barron; and European Space Agency (ESA) astronaut Matthias Maurer.

Misurkin, Maezawa and Hirano will spend 11 days on the space station and then will return to Earth on Dec. 19 on the Soyuz MS-20 spacecraft. This will be Misurkin’s third flight into space and the first for Maezawa and Mirano, who are making their self-funded trip into space under a contract between Space Adventures and Roscosmos.

On Sunday (Dec. 5), the Soyuz-2.1a rocket topped with the Soyuz MS-20 spacecraft was rolled out to Pad 31/6 by train and erected into position.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 47578
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 12-08-2021 01:56 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
collectSPACE
Japanese billionaire Yusaku Maezawa lifts off for space station on Russian Soyuz

A Japanese billionaire has embarked for a short stay on the International Space Station to experience life in space before flying to the moon.

Yusaku Maezawa, who earlier booked a lunar flight with SpaceX, lifted off with his production assistant Yozo Hirano and veteran cosmonaut Alexander Misurkin of Roscosmos on board Russia's Soyuz MS-20 spacecraft on Wednesday (Dec. 8). The 2:38 a.m. EST (0738 GMT or 12:38 p.m. local time) launch atop a Soyuz 2.1a rocket from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan marked the first space tourist flight bound for the station since 2009 and the first launch of two self-funded spaceflight participants on a Soyuz.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 47578
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 12-08-2021 08:03 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Soyuz MS-20 docks at space station

Cosmonaut Alexander Misurkin of Roscosmos and Japanese spaceflight participants Yusaku Maezawa and Yozo Hirano arrived at the International Space Station on Wednesday (Dec. 8), with the autonomous docking of Soyuz MS-20 to the Poisk module at 8:40 a.m. EST (1340 GMT).

Following standard pressurization checks, the hatches between the Soyuz MS-20 spacecraft and the space station will be opened.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 47578
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 12-19-2021 05:52 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Soyuz MS-20 undocks from space station

Roscosmos cosmonaut Alexander Misurkin together with Japanese billionaire Yusaku Maesawa and his assistant Yozo Hirano departed the International Space Station to return to Earth on Sunday (Dec. 19). Their Soyuz MS-20 spacecraft undocked from the Poisk mini-research module at 6:50 p.m. EDT (2350 GMT).

A deorbit burn scheduled for 9:18 p.m. EST (0318 GMT Dec. 20) will set up a landing southeast of the town of Dzhezkazgan, Kazakhstan at 12:36 a.m. EDT 10:13 p.m. EST (0313 GMT or 9:13 a.m. local time on Dec. 20).

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 47578
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 12-19-2021 10:15 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
collectSPACE
Japanese billionaire and crewmates land from short stay on space station

A Japanese billionaire and his production assistant have safely returned to Earth after spending nearly 12 days in space filming and posting videos online about their experience.

Yusaku Maezawa, who made his fortune as an online fashion retailer, and Yozo Hirano, his videographer, landed with cosmonaut Alexander Misurkin of the Russian federal space corporation Roscosmos on the Soyuz MS-20 spacecraft on Sunday (Dec. 19). The three crewmates touched down at around 10:13 p.m. EST (0313 GMT; 9:13 a.m. local time Dec. 20) on the steppe of Kazakhstan, southeast of the town of Dzhezkazgan.

All times are CT (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | The Source for Space History & Artifacts

Copyright 2021 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.


Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.47a





advertisement