Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites

  collectSPACE: Messages
  Space Shuttles - Space Station
  Soyuz TMA-6 landed!

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   Soyuz TMA-6 landed!
kosmonavtka
Member

Posts: 170
From: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Registered: Aug 2003

posted 10-10-2005 08:31 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for kosmonavtka     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Soyuz TMA-6 landed safely not long ago!

Details at: http://spaceflightnow.com/station/exp11/status2.html

0121 GMT (9:21 p.m. EDT Mon.)

A medical tent will be set up near the capsule in which the crew can change out of its launch and entry suits. Russian technicians will open the module's hatch and begin to remove the crew, one by one. They will be seated in special reclining chairs near the capsule for initial medical tests and to provide an opportunity to begin readapting to Earth's gravity.

0120 GMT (9:20 p.m. EDT Mon.)

The landing point is 41 degrees North and 67 degrees East.

0119 GMT (9:19 p.m. EDT Mon.)

A recovery team flying aboard a convoy of Russian military helicopters have landed nearby Soyuz to begin assisting the crew out of the capsule. The spacecraft touched down and remained vertical, unlike past missions in which capsules have tipped over.

0117 GMT (9:17 p.m. EDT Mon.)

The Soyuz's nighttime re-entry below the International Space Station provided quite a sight for the Expedition 12 crew now living aboard the orbiting outpost.

"Thanks for the great fireworks show. We had a wonderful view," the space station's new commander, Bill McArthur, just radioed Houston.

0112 GMT (9:12 p.m. EDT Mon.)

The recovery forces report they have visual contact with the Soyuz and say the capsule has landed upright.

0110 GMT (9:10 p.m. EDT Mon.)

TOUCHDOWN CONFIRMED! The Russian Soyuz TMA-6 capsule has landed in north-central Kazakhstan, capping the six-month voyage of Expedition 11 commander Sergei Krikalev and flight engineer John Phillips aboard the International Space Station and the 10-day adventure of tourist Greg Olsen.

1202 Alarm
Member

Posts: 276
From: Geneva, Switzerland
Registered: Nov 2003

posted 10-11-2005 02:41 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for 1202 Alarm     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Geee !!! I hope we're going to have some photos !!! What a sight..
On the Spaceflight website, I read :

The Soyuz's nighttime re-entry below the International Space Station provided quite a sight for the Expedition 12 crew now living aboard the orbiting outpost.

"Thanks for the great fireworks show. We had a wonderful view," the space station's new commander, Bill McArthur, just radioed Houston.
(...)

!!! I wonder if photos taken from SPACE (Mir or ISS) of a Soyuz or Shuttle reentry alreay exists
.

[This message has been edited by 1202 Alarm (edited October 11, 2005).]

kosmonavtka
Member

Posts: 170
From: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Registered: Aug 2003

posted 10-11-2005 07:55 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for kosmonavtka     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Here is one (STS-109 launch): http://spaceflight.nasa.gov/gallery/images/station/crew-4/html/iss004e8174.html

--- ooops, sorry, that's a launch.

[This message has been edited by kosmonavtka (edited October 11, 2005).]

All times are CT (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | The Source for Space History & Artifacts

Copyright 1999-2012 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.


Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.47a





advertisement