Space News
space history and artifacts articles

space history discussion forums

worldwide astronaut appearances

selected space history documents

related space history websites

  collectSPACE: Messages
  Space Events & Happenings
  10/6: 2012 National Aviation Hall of Fame (OH)

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   10/6: 2012 National Aviation Hall of Fame (OH)

Posts: 2103
From: Stuart, Florida, USA
Registered: Jun 2000

posted 12-19-2011 04:24 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for albatron   Click Here to Email albatron     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
It was announced Dec. 17 that Jerrie Cobb will be in the class of 2012 for the National Aviation Hall of Fame.
Geraldyn “Jerrie” Cobb, record-setting pilot who learned to fly at age 12, was the first and only woman to pass all of the Mercury astronaut selection tests. 1981 Nobel Prize nominee for her pioneering humanitarian work in the Amazon jungle.
Long overdue in my opinion, she is being inducted for her totality as a pioneer aviatrix.


Posts: 169
From: Portsmouth, England
Registered: Sep 2004

posted 12-20-2011 02:44 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for OLDIE     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
It's nice to see that someone still uses the correct name for a female flyer!

Robert Pearlman

Posts: 27328
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 10-02-2012 05:15 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
National Aviation Hall of Fame release
National Aviation Hall of Fame 50th Anniversary Enshrinement Attracts "Who's Who" of Air and Space Legends

Astronauts, military heroes, industry leaders and aviation buffs to descend on Dayton this Saturday to celebrate four pioneering enshrinees into Hall

The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) today officially announced the participants taking in part in the 50th Anniversary Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony, to be held at the Dayton Convention Center on Saturday, October 6th. The Master of Ceremonies will be former Good Morning America show host, producer, and writer, David Hartman, a long-time NAHF supporter.

Hartman will lead what's widely known as "America's Oscar Night of Aviation" before an audience of nearly 700 aerospace industry executives, armed forces leadership, government representatives, corporate sponsors, aviation scholars and enthusiasts from across the U.S.

The Enshrinee Class of 2012 and their personally selected ceremony presenters are:
  • Geraldyn "Jerrie" Cobb — Record-setting pilot, Mercury 13 member and Nobel Prize nominee for flying humanitarian missions in South America.
    • Presenting will be 2009 Enshrinee and former astronaut, Eileen Collins.
    • Accepting will be former Mercury 13 member and pilot, Rhea Woltman.

  • Keith Ferris — The "Dean of American Aviation Art" and inventor of camouflage and high visibility aircraft paint systems.
    • Presenting will be 2007 Enshrinee, historian and author, Walter Boyne.
    • Accepting will be Keith Ferris.

  • The late Lt. Gen. Elwood R. "Pete" Quesada, USAF — pioneering pilot, military tactician, and first Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration.
    • Presenting will be U.S. Congressman Sam Graves, 6th District, Missouri
    • Accepting will be Dr. Richard Hallion, Aerospace Historian

  • The late Richard T. Whitcomb — Award-winning NASA aerodynamicist with three major breakthroughs to his credit.
    • Presenter will be Roy Harris, former Director, NASA Langley Research Center, VA
    • Accepting will be David Whitcomb, nephew of Richard T. Whitcomb.
Upon their induction this weekend, the names of Cobb, Ferris, Quesada and Whitcomb will join those of the 211 legends of flight previously so honored by the National Aviation Hall of Fame, including the very first two enshrinees, Orville and Wilbur Wright.

"How fitting that the Birthplace of Aviation — Dayton, Ohio — and the Hall of Fame again play host to a 'who's who' of aviation's past and present to celebrate alongside so many of us who benefit from our enshrinees' achievements today" said Ron Kaplan, NAHF Enshrinement Director. He noted additional NAHF Enshrinees attending Saturday's event include former astronaut Joe Engle, Tuskegee Airman Charles E. McGee, aviation safety expert S. Harry Robertson, and record-setting explorer, Dick Rutan.

The program includes the presentation of the 2012 A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Educator of the Year Ward to Kokomo, Indiana elementary school teacher James E. McCarter, Jr., who will be presented a $5,000 check by former astronaut Robert L. "Hoot" Gibson and Justin Farley, grandson of the late Enshrinee Scott Crossfield.

"We are delighted to publicly honor four very special legends of flight into the Hall. Their sacrifice, vision, and contributions to air and space are exemplary," Kaplan said, adding, "Each one has devoted their unique life's calling to our collective safety, well-being, and freedom. The National Aviation Hall of Fame looks forward to spotlighting their inspirational legacies, adding them to the others we use to launch the imaginations of future innovators and pioneers."

The NAHF is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization founded in Dayton in 1962 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1964. Its mission is to honor America's outstanding air and space pioneers, which it does through a 17,000 square-foot public Learning Center featuring free admission to the public, interactive exhibits, youth education programs, its annual enshrinement ceremony, national merit awards, and other public outreach programs.

Reservations for the NAHF's 50th Anniversary Enshrinement Dinner & Ceremony are no longer available, however there are other ways to support the year-round mission of the NAHF Learning Center by visiting the NAHF website.


Posts: 889
From: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Registered: Apr 2008

posted 10-02-2012 08:07 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for alanh_7   Click Here to Email alanh_7     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Great candidates all. I love the art work of Keith Ferris. His B-17 mural at the Smithsonian is on of the most outstanding aviation paintings ever.

Congrats to all.


Posts: 2103
From: Stuart, Florida, USA
Registered: Jun 2000

posted 10-02-2012 08:42 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for albatron   Click Here to Email albatron     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Anyone else going? I know Hoot Gibson and Rhea Seddon are, possibly Joe Engle.

It's my granddaughters turn this year to go.


Posts: 296
From: Cleveland, OH USA
Registered: Aug 2006

posted 10-04-2012 04:26 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for space4u   Click Here to Email space4u     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
A couple of my colleagues from the International Women's Air & Space Museum are going to be there. We have our doubts as to whether or not Jerrie Cobb will show up. Eileen Collins is supposed to be there by the way.

All times are CT (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | The Source for Space History & Artifacts

Copyright 1999-2012 All rights reserved.

Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.47a