Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites


Photo gallery: On the road with space shuttle Endeavour

October 12, 2012 — Space shuttle Endeavour, which launched to orbit 25 times, has embarked on "Mission 26," a two-day, 12-mile (19-kilometer) road trip to the California Science Center (CSC) for display.

Endeavour, riding atop a modified NASA overland transporter and powered by four computer-controlled vehicles, exited Los Angeles International Airport at around 2 a.m. PDT (5 a.m. EDT; 0900 GMT) on Friday (Oct. 12) to begin navigating streets in Los Angeles and Inglewood.

On its way to the CSC, Endeavour will be towed by a Toyota Tundra pickup truck as it cross over the 405 freeway and take center stage for two public celebrations — including a dance number choreographed by "Fame" actress Debbie Allen.

The journey will culminate with an arrival around 8:30 p.m. PDT (11:30 p.m. EDT; 0330 GMT) at Exposition Park, where the science center's Samuel Oschin Space Shuttle Endeavour Display Pavilion awaits.

This gallery will be updated as Endeavour's road trip proceeds and is completed.
 

See shuttles.collectspace.com for full coverage of the delivery and display of NASA's space shuttles.



back to collectSPACE

© 2018 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.
Questions? E-mail contact@collectspace.com