Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites


                  arrow advertisements
collectSPACE: The Source for Space History and Artifacts
The Source for Space History and Artifacts
[ About ] [ Search ] [ Contact ]     
January 27, 2015 / 1:00 a.m. CT (0700 GMT)
T-minus 2 years and counting: Boeing and SpaceX are on track to launch astronauts to the International Space Station in 2017. The two companies' officials took part in a NASA press conference on Monday (Jan. 26) to lay out their schedules for the first time since being contracted to provide commercial crew transportation last September. Boeing's CST-100 and SpaceX's Dragon spacecraft will fly four astronauts per mission to the orbiting laboratory.

January 23, 2015 / 12:05 a.m. CT (0605 GMT)
Mission Moon: Chicago's Adler Planetarium launched its first crowdfunding campaign on Monday (Jan. 19) to sponsor redesigning its former "Shoot for the Moon" exhibition, now renamed "Mission Moon." With support from the public, the Adler plans to create an exciting, interactive and educational experience that better shares the story of America's first steps into space while following the life and legendary career of Apollo 13 astronaut James Lovell.

January 21, 2015 / 7:35 a.m. CT (1335 GMT)
Journey to Space: Patrick Stewart will lead audiences on NASA's future trek to Mars as the newly-announced narrator of "Journey to Space," a new 3D giant-screen documentary on the recent history and near-term future of human space travel. Presented by Boeing and Toyota, and produced by K2 Films and Giant Screen Films, "Journey to Space" is set to launch into select theaters in February.

January 16, 2015 / 12:20 p.m. CT (1820 GMT)
UK's Beagle 2, lost and found: The Beagle 2 Mars lander, built by the United Kingdom, has been believed lost on Mars since 2003, but has now been found in images captured by NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter. A set of three observations with the orbiter's HiRISE camera shows Beagle 2 partially deployed on the planet's surface, ending the mystery of what happened to the mission.

January 14, 2015 / 12:25 p.m. CT (1825 GMT)
Surplus space gold: The General Services Administration is auctioning NASA's surplus space gold – six 24KT gold plates that were "reportedly flown in space for 69 months." At present (as of Jan. 14), the gold plates have elicited bids topping $150,000, with still eight days left until the auction ends. Few other details are provided about the space-flown treasure, which prompted collectSPACE to dig deeper into the artifact's possibly rich spaceflight history.

January 14, 2015 / 11:25 a.m. CT (1725 GMT)
ISS ammonia leak alarm: The possibility of an ammonia leak on the International Space Station on Wednesday (Jan. 14) caused the crew to evacuate to the Russian segment of the complex. The alarm, which was triggered by an increase in water pressure inside the space station's coolant loop, appears to have been a false indication, flight controllers at NASA's Mission Control in Houston said. The teams are working to learn exactly what happened, restore systems and allow the crew to re-enter the U.S. side.

January 12, 2015 / 1:00 p.m. CT (1900 GMT)
Shuttle engine fires up for future: A space shuttle main engine roared to life Friday (Jan 9), three and a half years after the end of the shuttle program, for its first 500-second test fire in support of NASA's new Space Launch System. The hot fire, atop Stennis Space Center's A-1 test stand, collected data toward modifying the RS-25 engine to be used with the SLS. Four RS-25 engines will provide the thrust needed to power the heavy-lift rocket's first stage.

January 10, 2015 / 4:00 a.m. CT (1000 GMT) - UPDATED
What goes up: Packed with flatworms, fruit flies and CATS (the Cloud-Aerosol Transport System), among other science experiments and crew supplies, SpaceX's CRS-5 Dragon cargo capsule launched for the International Space Station from Cape Canaveral on Saturday (Jan. 10). The spacecraft is slated to rendezvous with the orbiting lab on Monday. As the Dragon reached orbit, the first stage of its Falcon 9 launch vehicle approached a first-ever landing atop a floating platform (autonomous spaceport drone ship) but "landed hard" said SpaceX's Elon Musk. "Close, but no cigar this time. Bodes well for the future, though."

                                                               arrow special feature

Updates | Photo Galleries | Timeline | Shuttle Tracker | Discussions
January 8, 2015 / 5:35 p.m. CT (2335 GMT)
LEGO-ized crew on ISS: LEGO minifigures of Anton Shklaperov, Samantha Cristoforetti and Terry Virts have been revealed on board the International Space Station. The tiny toy versions of the Expedition 42 crew members were created by UK-based Minifigs.me at the request of a European Space Agency instructor and carried to space by Cristoforetti. Each of the crew's figures are clad in a Sokol spacesuit with the proper patches and flags. Minifigs.me is now offering the same customizable figures to the public.

January 7, 2015 / 2:05 p.m. CT (2005 GMT)
Outside the Spacecraft: The Smithsonian's National Air and Space Museum is debuting "Outside the Spacecraft: 50 Years of Extra-Vehicular Activity," a new exhibit celebrating the half century since Alexei Leonov and Ed White made the first spacewalks. Opening Thursday (Jan. 8) and running through June 8, the exhibit features artwork, photography and artifacts to share the history of EVA.

January 1, 2015 / 10:45 p.m. CT (0445 GMT Jan 2)
Boris Morukov, 1950-2015: Boris Morukov, a physician, researcher, and cosmonaut who 15 years ago flew to the International Space Station, died on Thursday (Jan. 1) at age 64. One of two Russian cosmonauts whose only mission was aboard a U.S. space shuttle, Morukov flew as an STS-106 crewmember in 2000. Later, as deputy director of the Institute of Biomedical Problems, he led Mars500, a full-length simulated human mission to the Red Planet.

December 29, 2014 / 2:00 p.m. CT (2000 GMT)


Print a piece of history: The first-ever hand tool emailed to orbit can now be downloaded from anywhere on Earth. NASA and Made In Space, Inc. have released the file they used to 3D print a wrench aboard the International Space Station. Anyone can now 3D print their own ratchet just like the one uplinked to the station's crew. (Don't have a 3D printer handy? Enter collectSPACE's contest to win a ready-printed space ratchet, courtesy 3D Solid Solutions!)

December 18, 2014 / 5:05 p.m. CT (2305 GMT)
Next year in space: One hundred days from embarking on the first yearlong stay onboard the International Space Station (ISS), NASA astronaut Scott Kelly and Mikhail Kornienko, a Roscosmos cosmonaut, spoke about their upcoming mission during a press conference at the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization in Paris on Thursday (Dec. 18). The two space explorers said they were excited for their year off the planet, adding that the expedition is a "stepping stone" toward humans leaving Earth for destinations further out into the solar system.

December 15, 2014 / 7:45 a.m. CT (1345 GMT)
Skywalker X-33: Tested and qualified by the European Space Agency, the new version of Omega's Speedmaster X-33, the Skywalker, features a movement based on an invention by ESA astronaut Jean-François Clervoy. A digital and analog wristwatch, the Skywalker X-33 features mission and phase elapsed time modes to help astronauts track their mission events and a white on black dial to help with visibility in space. The Skywalker will now be included with the standard equipment issued to ESA astronauts.

December 12, 2014 / 1:50 p.m. CT (1950 GMT)
'Journey To Space': Coming to large-format movie screens in 2015, "Journey To Space" tells the true "story of what the next chapter of space exploration will bring," while looking back at what role the space shuttle played in preparing us for that future. Filmed at NASA centers and at commercial facilities, "Journey To Space" features the real hardware being developed for a human mission to Mars.

December 11, 2014 / 3:05 p.m. CT (2105 GMT)
MoonMail: Forty-two years (to the day) after the last manned moon landing, Astrobotic on Thursday (Dec. 11) announced the launch of its MoonMail program, offering the public the opportunity to fly their own mementos to the lunar surface. With a starting price of $460, MoonMail aims to open the moon to individuals. "They will make history by participating in the first commercial moon landing," stated Astrobotic's chief executive officer John Thornton.

[ browse earlier updates ]

  collectSPACE RSS

© 1999-2015 collectSPACE.com contact@collectspace.com
 
Upcoming space events:

Ceremony [01/28]
NASA Day of Remembrance
Space Mirror Memorial, KSC, FL

Ceremony [01/31]
Astronaut Memorial Service
Sand Point Park, Titusville, FL

                      arrow more events

Newly Added Sightings:
[02/13]  John Grunsfeld
[02/26]  Mike Fossum
[01/31]  Don Thomas

                  arrow more sightings





                  arrow advertisements