Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites

  collectSPACE: Messages
  ESA - JAXA - China - International
  ESA Vega launches: Viewing and comments

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   ESA Vega launches: Viewing and comments
Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 27328
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 02-12-2012 06:12 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
ESA Vega launches: viewing, questions, comments
This thread is intended for comments and questions regarding the European Space Agency's Vega rocket and the updates published under the topic: ESA's Vega small expendable launch vehicle.

Vega is a three-stage solid-propellant vehicle with a liquid-propellant maneuverable injection module sized primarily to loft payloads of up to 1,500 kg (3,300 lbs) into polar low-Earth orbits at an altitude of 700 km (435 miles). Its main objective is to provide Europe with a safe, reliable, competitive and efficient capacity for scientific and Earth observation payloads.

This maiden launch, designated VV01, marks the completion of nine years of development by ESA and its industrial partners, with the support of the Italian and French space agencies, ASI and CNES. Seven ESA member states have contributed to the program: Belgium, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 27328
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 02-12-2012 06:16 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
ESA announcement
Watch online: Vega qualification flight

Join us for the first qualification flight of the Vega launch vehicle on Monday Feb. 13, 2012, with a launch window open from 11:00 to 14:00 CET (1000 to 1300 GMT, 5:00 to 8:00 a.m. EST).

Vega will lift off from Europe's Spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana, to release nine satellites into orbit and add a new capability to Europe's fleet of launch systems.

Live transmission starts at 10:40 CET (0940 GMT, 4:40 a.m. EST).

gliderpilotuk
Member

Posts: 3043
From: London, UK
Registered: Feb 2002

posted 02-13-2012 06:41 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for gliderpilotuk   Click Here to Email gliderpilotuk     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Europe's new Vega rocket has completed a flawless first flight.

Controllers at the Kourou spaceport in French Guiana ignited the rocket at 07:00 local time (10:00 GMT), and it completed its mission 70 minutes later.

Jay Chladek
Member

Posts: 2211
From: Bellevue, NE, USA
Registered: Aug 2007

posted 02-14-2012 02:03 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Jay Chladek   Click Here to Email Jay Chladek     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Very nice launch. A three stage solid payload launcher, rather cool if I say so. That liftoff was nice and fast and looked good.

Are there any materials giving the dimensions of the booster? I might want to build a model of it.

All times are CT (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | The Source for Space History & Artifacts

Copyright 1999-2012 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.


Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.47a





advertisement