Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites

  collectSPACE: Messages
  Soviet - Russian Space
  Progress MS-08 (ISS 69P) cargo spacecraft

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   Progress MS-08 (ISS 69P) cargo spacecraft
Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 39971
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 02-11-2018 07:34 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Launch of Progress MS-08 to station scrubbed

The scheduled launch of the Progress MS-08 cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station Sunday (Feb. 11) at 3:58 a.m. EST (0858 GMT; 2:58 p.m. local) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan was scrubbed due to a still to be determined problem.

"At ignition, an automated command was sent to cut the engines. The causes are being determined," Roscosmos said in a statement.

The launch has been reset for Tuesday (Feb. 13), pending resolution of the issue.

Due to orbital mechanics, a launch on Tuesday cancels a planned attempt at an expedited two-orbit, three and a half hour rendezvous and docking. A launch on Tuesday will result in a two-day, 34-orbit trip to the space station.

This is the second launch abort of a space station-bound Progress in 69 flights.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 39971
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 02-13-2018 02:23 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Progress MS-08 launches to space station

Russia's Progress MS-08 cargo spacecraft is now on a two-day trip to the International Space Station, having lifted off on Tuesday (Feb. 13) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

Launch of the Soyuz rocket lofting the Progress came at 3:13:33 a.m. EST (0813 GMT; 2:13 p.m. local time).

Following a 34-orbit rendezvous, the Progress will dock to the aft port of the Zvezda service module of the space station on Thursday (Feb. 15) at 5:43 a.m EST (1043 GMT).

Progress MS-08 is delivering 3,000 pounds (1,390 kilograms) of crew supplies and science research equipment; 1,400 pounds (640 kg) of propellant; 925 pounds (420 kg) of water; and 100 pounds (46 kg) of compressed air and oxygen for the space station.

The spacecraft will remain at the orbiting lab through late August.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 39971
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 02-15-2018 06:03 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Progress MS-08 docks at space station

Russia's Progress MS-08 cargo spacecraft docked at 5:38 a.m. EST (1038 GMT) Thursday (Feb. 15) to the aft port of the Zvezda service module at the International Space Station.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 39971
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 08-22-2018 09:54 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Progress MS-08 departs space station

Russia's Progress MS-08 spacecraft undocked from the International Space Station on Wednesday (Aug. 22), backing away from the Zvezda service module at 9:16 p.m. CDT (0216 GMT on Aug. 23).

Loaded with trash, Progress MS-08 will orbit Earth for seven days while Russian ground controllers conduct a series of engineering tests with the vehicle. The Progress will then be directed to re-enter the atmosphere for a fiery demise over the Pacific Ocean.

All times are CT (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | The Source for Space History & Artifacts

Copyright 2018 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.


Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.47a





advertisement