Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites

  collectSPACE: Messages
  Soviet - Russian Space
  Soyuz MS-05 mission to the space station

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   Soyuz MS-05 mission to the space station
Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 38427
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 07-26-2017 08:00 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Soyuz MS-05 spacecraft, crew poised for launch

Soyuz MS-05 commander Sergey Ryazanskiy of Roscosmos, along with flight engineers Randy Bresnik of NASA and Paolo Nespoli of the European Space Agency are set to launch to the International Space Station on Friday (July 28) at 10:41 a.m. CDT (1541 GMT; 9:41 p.m. local time) from Russia's Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.


Credit: NASA/Bill Ingalls

They will dock the Soyuz to the space station's Rassvet module at 5 p.m CDT (2300 GMT), following a four-orbit rendezvous.

About two hours later, the hatches between the Soyuz and space station will open and Ryazanskiy, Bresnik and Nespoli will be greeted by Expedition 52 commander Fyodor Yurchikhin and flight engineers Peggy Whitson and Jack Fischer.

Ryazansky, Bresnik and Nespoli will stay onboard the station through December.

On Wednesday (July 26), the Soyuz-FG rocket topped with the Soyuz MS-05 spacecraft was rolled out to the pad by train and erected into position.


Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 38427
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 07-28-2017 11:10 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
collectSPACE
Russian, US and Italian crew launches for space station on Soyuz MS-05

The grandson of a Soviet rocket scientist, the grandson of Amelia Earhart's authorized photographer and an Italian engineer who will be the oldest professional astronaut to reside aboard the International Space Station launched into Earth orbit on Friday (July 28) on a planned five month mission.

Sergey Ryazanskiy of Russia's federal space corporation Roscosmos, Randy Bresnik of NASA and Italian astronaut Paolo Nespoli of the European Space Agency (ESA), lifted off aboard Russia's Soyuz MS-05 spacecraft atop a Soyuz FG rocket from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 11:41 a.m. EDT (1641 GMT or 9:41 p.m. local Baikonur time). Launched on an expedited six-orbit rendezvous, the three crewmates will dock the Soyuz at the space station's Rassvet module at 6 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT).

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 38427
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 07-28-2017 05:22 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Soyuz MS-05 arrives at space station

After a six-hour spaceflight, Sergey Ryazanskiy of Roscosmos, NASA astronaut Randy Bresnik and Paolo Nespoli of ESA (European Space Agency) arrived at the International Space Station at 4:54 p.m. CDT (2154) on Friday (July 28) to continue scientific research on board the orbiting laboratory.

Following standard pressurization checks, the hatches between the Soyuz MS-05 spacecraft and the space station will be opened.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 38427
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 12-14-2017 04:00 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
collectSPACE
Soyuz MS-05 crew returns to Earth safely after 139 days on space station

Three International Space Station crewmembers from Russia, Italy and the United States are back on Earth, having landed after five months aboard the orbiting outpost.

Russian cosmonaut Sergey Ryazanskiy, Paolo Nespoli of the European Space Agency (ESA) and astronaut Randy Bresnik of NASA touched down on Russia's Soyuz MS-05 spacecraft on Thursday (Dec. 14), landing on the steppe of Kazakhstan southeast of the town of Dzhezkazgan at 3:37 a.m. EST (0837 GMT; 2:37 p.m. local Kazakh time).

All times are CT (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | The Source for Space History & Artifacts

Copyright 2017 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.


Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.47a





advertisement