Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites

  collectSPACE: Messages
  Soviet - Russian Space
  Progress M-19M (51P) ISS resupply craft

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
profile | register | preferences | faq | search

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   Progress M-19M (51P) ISS resupply craft
Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 27328
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 04-24-2013 06:25 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Progress M-19M launches to space station

Russia's Progress M-19M cargo craft launched from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan Wednesday (April 24) at 5:12 a.m. CDT (1012 GMT) on a two-day trip to the International Space Station.

The Progress, the 51st Russian unmanned craft to bring supplies to the ISS, made it to orbit and deployed its solar arrays as planned.

One of the five sets of KURS automated rendezvous antennas used as navigational aids did not deploy. Russian ground controllers are assessing the antenna, which is used to measure orientation of the Progress vehicle, and how to troubleshoot the problem.

Unlike the three prior freighter flights, Progress M-19M is relegated to the typical two-day rendezvous rather than a six-hour sprint because of the phasing and orbital mechanics associated with this launch date.

The cargo craft is scheduled to dock with the station's Zvezda service module Friday (April 26) at 7:26 a.m. CDT (1226 GMT). It is loaded with 1,764 pounds (800 kilograms) of propellant, 48 pounds (22 kg) of oxygen, 57 pounds (26 kg) of air, 926 pounds (420 kg) of water and 3,483 pounds (1580 kg) of spare parts, experiment hardware and other supplies for the station crew.

After being emptied by the station's crew, Progress M-19M will be filled with trash and then undocked from the station on June 11 to make way for the arrival of the European Space Agency's "Albert Einstein" Automated Transfer Vehicle 4 on June 15.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 27328
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 04-26-2013 02:49 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Progress M-19M docks at space station

The Progress M-19M cargo craft completed a two-day journey to the International Space Station (ISS) Friday (April 26) as it docked to the Zvezda service module at 7:25 a.m. CDT (1225 GMT).

The unmanned freighter completed a hard mate when docking hooks were deployed at 7:34 a.m. CDT (1234 GMT).

Roscosmos cosmonauts Pavel Vinogradov and Roman Romanenko monitored the docking while at the controls of TORU, the Russian telerobotic rendezvous system, ready to take manual control of the automated docking process if difficulties arose.

After conducting leak checks at the docking interface, the Expedition 35 crew members opened the hatches to the cargo craft at 10:39 a.m. CDT (1539 GMT) and began the long process of inventorying and unloading its 3.1 tons of food, fuel and equipment.

Robert Pearlman
Editor

Posts: 27328
From: Houston, TX
Registered: Nov 1999

posted 06-11-2013 09:23 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Robert Pearlman   Click Here to Email Robert Pearlman     Edit/Delete Message   Reply w/Quote
Progress M-19M undocks from space station

The trash-filled Progress M-19M (51P) resupply craft undocked from the aft-end port of the Zvezda service module Tuesday (June 11) at 9:58 a.m. EDT (1458 GMT). ISS Expedition 36 commander Pavel Vinogradov closed the Russian cargo freighter's hatch on Monday after a 6.5 week stay at the International Space Station.

Progress M-19M delivered 3.1 tons of food, fuel and equipment for the station crew on April 26. It had launched two days earlier from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

After reaching orbit, one of its antennas for the KURS automated rendezvous system did not deploy.

As the Progress departed, the ship's external cameras focused on the navigational sensors on the Zvezda docking port. Imagery was gathered to confirm the sensors were not damaged when the cargo craft arrived at the station with one of its navigational antennas folded against its side. Those sensors are required for ESA's Automated Transfer Vehicle-4 (ATV-4) to dock properly June 15.

The stuck antenna deployed as the Progress backed away from the station.

Progress M-19M will orbit Earth at a safe distance from the station for a few days while controllers in Moscow perform engineering tests. Afterwards, the craft will re-enter Earth's atmosphere over the Pacific Ocean for a fiery disposal.

All times are CT (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

Administrative Options: Close Topic | Archive/Move | Delete Topic
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
Hop to:

Contact Us | The Source for Space History & Artifacts

Copyright 1999-2012 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.


Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.47a





advertisement