Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites

Forum:Soviet - Russian Space
Topic:Progress M-18M (50P) ISS resupply craft
Want to register?
Who Can Post? Any registered users may post a reply.
About Registration You must be registered in order to post a topic or reply in this forum.
Your UserName:
Your Password:   Forget your password?
Your Reply:


*HTML is ON
*UBB Code is ON

Smilies Legend

Options Disable Smilies in This Post.
Show Signature: include your profile signature. Only registered users may have signatures.
*If HTML and/or UBB Code are enabled, this means you can use HTML and/or UBB Code in your message.

If you have previously registered, but forgotten your password, click here.

The freighter is scheduled to dock to the Pirs docking compartment at 2:40 p.m. CST (2040 GMT), delivering 764 pounds of propellant, 110 pounds of oxygen and air, 926 pounds of water and 3,000 pounds of spare parts, experiment hardware and logistics equipment — 2.9 tons of supplies in all.

That docking port on Pirs was most recently occupied by the M-16M (48P) craft, which undocked on Saturday after spending six months at the station.

Aboard the station’s Zvezda service module, Expedition 34 flight engineers Oleg Novitskiy and Evgeny Tarelkin will monitor Progress M-18M's approach using the telerobotic TORU system. The Progress is designed to dock automatically via the Kurs automated rendezvous system, but the crew can use TORU to take over should difficulties arise.

Robert Pearlman
Progress M-18M arrives at space station

Russia's Progress M-18M (50P) resupply ship docked with the International Space Station's Pirs docking compartment at 2:35 p.m. CST (2035 GMT) on Monday (Feb. 11), delivering 764 pounds of propellant, 110 pounds of oxygen and air, 926 pounds of water and 3,000 pounds of spare parts, experiment hardware and logistics equipment — 2.9 tons of supplies in all.

The space freighter launched from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 8:41 a.m. CST (1441 GMT; 8:41 p.m. local time) on an accelerated, four-orbit journey to rendezvous with the station.

Robert Pearlman
Progress M-18M departs space station

Russia's Progress M-18M (50P) resupply ship undocked from the Pirs docking compartment Thursday (July 25) at 3:43 p.m. CDT (2043 GMT).

Progress M-18M, which was filled with trash and discarded gear, is set to deorbit over the Pacific Ocean. Progress M-20M (52P) is set to replace M-18M when it launches Saturday (July 27) at 3:45 p.m. CDT (2045 GMT) and docks to Pirs about six hours later.

Contact Us | The Source for Space History & Artifacts

Copyright 1999-2014 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.


Ultimate Bulletin Board Version 5.47a





advertisement