Space News
space history and artifacts articles

Messages
space history discussion forums

Sightings
worldwide astronaut appearances

Resources
selected space history documents

Websites
related space history websites

Forum:ESA - JAXA - China - International
Topic:JAXA's H-II Transfer Vehicle (HTV-3) Kounotori-3
Want to register?
Who Can Post? Any registered users may post a reply.
About Registration You must be registered in order to post a topic or reply in this forum.
Your UserName:
Your Password:   Forget your password?
Your Reply:


*HTML is ON
*UBB Code is ON

Smilies Legend

Options Disable Smilies in This Post.
Show Signature: include your profile signature. Only registered users may have signatures.
*If HTML and/or UBB Code are enabled, this means you can use HTML and/or UBB Code in your message.

If you have previously registered, but forgotten your password, click here.

See here for discussion about JAXA's Kounotori-3 mission to the space station.

Robert Pearlman
Japan's HTV Kounotori-3 grappled by station arm

Using the International Space Station's (ISS) Canadarm2 robotic arm, ISS Expedition 32 flight engineer Joe Acaba of NASA captured the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency's (JAXA) H-II Transfer Vehicle Kounotori-3 at 7:23 a.m. CDT (1223 GMT) on Friday (July 27).

Acaba handed off control of the arm to JAXA astronaut Aki Hoshide, who then used it to attach Kounotori-3 to the Earth-facing port of the Harmony module.

The berthing was achieved at 9:34 a.m. CDT (1434 GMT).

The Japanese ship, which name means "white stork" — because it is emblematic of an important delivery — is loaded with about 7,000 pounds (3,175 kilograms) of equipment, supplies and experiments in a pressurized cargo compartment along with more than 1,000 pounds (450 kilograms) of unpressurized experiments.

Robert Pearlman
Japan's HTV Kounotori-3 departs space station

Robotic arm operators Aki Hoshide and Joe Acaba, both Expedition 32 flight engineers, commanded Canadarm2 to release the HTV-3 at 10:50 a.m. CDT (1550 GMT) Wednesday (Sept. 12). The Japanese cargo craft, filled with trash, will re-enter Earth's atmosphere over the Pacific Ocean for a fiery disposal.

Hoshide and Acaba earlier commanded the Canadarm2 to grapple and unberth the HTV-3 from the Harmony node. Unberthing from the Earth-facing port of Harmony occurred at 6:50 a.m. CDT (1150 GMT).

The Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency launched the HTV-3 from the Tanegashima Space Center on July 20. The cargo craft arrived at the International Space Station on July 27.

See here for discussion about JAXA's Kounotori-3 mission to the space station.

Contact Us | The Source for Space History & Artifacts

Copyright 1999-2014 collectSPACE.com All rights reserved.


Ultimate Bulletin Board Version 5.47a





advertisement